Dedication of Life-size Mammoth Sculptures Highlights Mayborn Museum’s 20th Anniversary

Mammoth landmark symbolizes museum’s unwavering commitment to inspire wonder and learning for generations to come

May 21, 2024
Ribbon cutting to welcome the Mayborn Museum Mammoths

Contact: Lori Fogleman, Baylor University Media and Public Relations, 254-709-5959
Follow us on X (Twitter): @BaylorUMedia

WACO, Texas (May 21, 2024) – Marking 20 years of sparking curiosity and inspiring lifelong learning, the Mayborn Museum at Baylor University celebrated its milestone anniversary by officially unveiling and dedicating a life-size landmark for the community – stunning bronze Mammoth sculptures that stand as timeless symbols of the Mayborn Museum’s commitment to inspire and educate generations.

Created with meticulous detail by renowned artist Tom Tischler, in collaboration with Pyrology Foundry & Studio and Howard Designs of Bastrop, the sculptures of a bull, a mother and a calf are based on real-life measurements from Columbian mammoth specimens found at the Waco Mammoth National Monument, a unit of the National Park System located along the Bosque River in Waco. The Mayborn Museum serves as the official repository for the park, storing and making accessible to researchers all the paleontological and archaeological objects that have been removed from the site, as well as their associated documentation.

The sculptures’ scientific accuracy – the bull itself stands nearly 14 feet at the shoulder with a head, trunk and tusks adding another 8 feet of height – is expected to spark curiosity in the natural history of central Texas, said Charlier Walter, executive director of the Mayborn Museum.

“We are excited to share these magnificent bronze mammoth sculptures with our community,” Walter said. “The sculptures represent years of collaboration and craftsmanship, and their installation symbolizes the Mayborn Museum’s unwavering commitment to inspire wonder and learning for generations to come. It's not just a milestone; it's a promise – to keep sparking wonder and learning for generations ahead.”

On a beautiful evening ahead of the museum’s 20th anniversary gala, museum supporters gathered for the dedication ceremony that featured remarks from Walter, Tischler and Baylor President Linda A. Livingstone, Ph.D. The official ribbon-cutting followed, with Walter and President Livingstone sharing the honors, surrounded Mayborn staff, Baylor administrators, Waco elected officials and a local park ranger from the Waco Mammoth National Monument.

Over 20 years, the Mayborn Museum has served as a shining hub of natural science and cultural history in Central Texas. The bronze sculptures are part of the ongoing transformation of its Natural History Hall through Reigniting Curiosity, a visionary $16 million campaign. Entering Phase 2 after the successful completion of Phase 1 fundraising, which garnered substantial support from the Cooper Foundation, Waco Foundation and numerous individuals, the museum is poised to embark on the next stage of its ambitious renovation journey. 


The Mayborn Museum Complex celebrates the natural science and cultural history of Central Texas. This 143,000-square-foot building on the Baylor University campus sparkles with many vibrant exhibits and compelling hands-on activities for the whole family to enjoy repeatedly. For more information, contact the Mayborn Museum at 254-710-1110 or visit the Mayborn Museum website.


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked Research 1 institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 20,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 100 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.