Baylor University Announces Fall Enrollment

September 27, 2023
Baylor University students on campus walking to class

(Robert Rogers/Baylor University)

Contact: Lori Fogleman, Baylor University Media & Public Relations, 254-709-5959
Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia

WACO, Texas (Sept. 27, 2023) – Baylor University announced its official fall enrollment today, including an overall enrollment at nearly 21,000.

According to official statistics from Baylor’s Office of Institutional Research, Baylor enrolled 20,824 students this fall. The University’s overall student body reflects more than one-third students of color at 35.1%, and students from out-of-state at nearly 43%.

Baylor’s one-year freshman retention rate (Fall 2022 to Fall 2023) increased four-tenths of a point to 90.6%, the second highest retention rate in the University’s history. In addition, the four-year graduation rate for the Fall 2019 cohort rose to 71.3%.

The fall 2023 freshman class of 3,317 students maintained its high academic quality with SAT and ACT test scores and the percentage of high-ability students. The diversity among the 2023 class includes 36.5% students of color and out-of-state enrollment at 40%.

Undergraduate enrollment was reported at 15,155 students, which follows Baylor’s strategic enrollment management plan to reduce that number below 15,000.

Enrollment in Baylor’s expanding graduate and professional programs, including online programs, increased to 5,669 students.


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked Research 1 institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 20,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 100 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.