Partial Closure of Third Street Announced, Effective July 10

June 28, 2017
3rd Street Closure Map

Media contact: Tonya B. Lewis, (254) 710-4656

WACO, Texas (June 28, 2017) — Beginning Monday, July 10, Third Street from Baylor Avenue to Speight Avenue on the Baylor University campus will be closed to through traffic as a result of a recent safety study.

The closure primarily affects traffic along Third Street in front of Moody Library and near the Sid Richardson Building. While the pathway may be altered, motorists will continue to be able to drive sections of Third Street to access George W. Truett Theological Seminary and parking near Speight Avenue near the Sid Richardson Building.(Please note that Third Street from Moody Library to the seminary will convert to one-way traffic only.)

During the spring semester, engineering consultants reviewed campus vehicular traffic patterns and recommended the partial street closure to reduce traffic and improve pedestrian safety.

“This particular segment of Third Street between Baylor Avenue and Speight Avenue is of particular concern because of the mix of motor vehicle, bicycle and pedestrian traffic. Removing the through traffic will greatly reduce the traffic volume in the area,” said Matt Penney, director of Baylor’s Parking and Transportation Services.

“This partial closure is a step towards the ultimate goal of making Baylor’s campus more pedestrian-friendly. We recognize the initial inconvenience to those on campus and we encourage drivers to plan ahead. This change will result in no loss of parking, but accessing lots may be different,” Penney said.

A map of the street closure is accessible online. To contact Parking and Transportation Services, visit


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 16,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.