Baylor Competition Winners to Perform at Carnegie Hall

February 14, 2017
Semper Pro Musica Competition Winners

Winners of the 2017 Semper Pro Musica Solo and Chamber Music Competition: Front row, left to right: Ricardo Gómez, Yera Kim, David Medina, Casey Klopp and Spencer Sosnowski. Back row, left to right: Molly Hines, William Danheim, Joshua Thaver, Zachary Barba, Sara Steele, Stephen Buley, Mitchell Brackett, Mollie McInnis and Patrick Lenz.

Five soloists, three chamber groups named as winners

Contact: Richard Veit, Concert and Promotion Manager, Baylor University School of Music, 254-710-3991
Follow Baylor Media Communications on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia

WACO, Texas (Feb. 14, 2017) – Fifteen soloists and four chamber groups participated in the finals of this year’s Semper Pro Musica Solo and Chamber Music Competition, which were held Sunday, Feb. 12, on the Baylor campus.

Five soloists and three chamber groups were named as winners and will travel to New York City May 24-27, during which time they will perform in Weill Recital Hall at renowned Carnegie Hall at 8 p.m. Thursday, May 25.

The two-round music competition began in late fall 2016. Judges for the Feb. 12 finals were Bradley Moore (Houston Grand Opera), John Owings (Texas Christian University) and Mary Ellen Poole (The University of Texas at Austin). Winners were announced during a brief ceremony that concluded a day of high-level music making from every competitor.

The five winners of the solo competition were: Ricardo Gómez (violin), Yera Kim (piano), Casey Klopp (mezzo-soprano), David Medina (percussion) and Spencer Sosnowski (saxophone).

The three chamber groups selected as winners were: a trio composed of Zachary Barba (tenor voice), Stephen Buley (horn) and Sara Steele (piano); the Morpheme Saxophone Quartet, with members Spencer Sosnowski (soprano sax), Patrick Lenz (alto sax), Mollie McInnis (tenor sax) and Mitchell Brackett (baritone sax); and the Ursino String Quartet, with members Ricardo Gómez and Molly Hines (violin), Joshua Thaver (viola) and William Danheim (cello).

Tickets for the May 25 student concert are available through the Carnegie Hall Box Office, beginning on March 1, or through the Baylor University School of Music by contacting Jillian Gusukuma at


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 16,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.


The Baylor University School of Music provides transformational experiences that prepare students for careers in music. Our students thrive in a Christian environment characterized by a nurturing resident faculty, an unwavering pursuit of musical excellence, a global perspective, dedication to service, and devotion to faith. They investigate the rich musical and cultural heritage of the past, develop superior musical skills and knowledge in the present, and explore and create new modes of musical expression for the future. While preparing for future leadership roles, the students join with School of Music faculty in enhancing the quality of community life, enriching the larger culture, and making Baylor a place in which heart, mind and soul coalesce. The School of Music of Baylor University is a member of the National Association of Schools of Music and the Texas Association of Music Schools. Degree programs leading to the bachelor of music education degree conform to certification requirements of the Texas Education Agency.