Baylor School of Nursing Dean Appointed to Committee at CGFNS International

March 2, 2016
Shelley F. Conroy

Shelley F. Conroy courtesy photo.

Follow us on Twitter:@BaylorUMedia
Contact: Eric Eckert, (254) 710-1964
WACO, Texas (March 2, 2016) – Shelley F. Conroy, Ed.D., M.S.N., R.N., C.N.E., dean of Baylor University's Louise Herrington School of Nursing, has been appointed to the Professional Nurse Credentials and Standards Committee by CGFNS International, Inc.
CGFNS, also known as the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools, is an organization that provides services that verify and promote the knowledge-based competency of health care professionals. CGFNS provides credentials evaluation services to health care professionals educated outside of United States and offers information on international nursing education and licensure.
Conroy will serve a two-year term on the committee. She previously served two terms on the Virginia Board of Nursing. She has also served on committees with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing.
Recently, Conroy has been working through the LHSON to help Vietnam develop and implement their first Master of Science in Nursing degree, also helping Northrise University in Ndola, Zambia develop a baccalaureate degree nursing program.

"My interest in participating in projects that include the comparability of education, licensure and practice of foreign-educated nurses is most recently reflected in my leadership in global partnerships in India, Vietnam, Hong Kong and Zambia," Conroy said. "I am particularly excited about our recent USAID/ASHA grant award to partner with the Rebekah A. Naylor College of Nursing in Bangalore, India to build a simulation center and promote interdisciplinary collaboration and simulation education. This partnership has resulted in multiple research projects and joint scholarly presentations."

by Jenna Press, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805
Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 16,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.


The Baylor Louise Herrington School of Nursing was established in 1909 as a diploma program within Baylor Hospital in Dallas, which is now Baylor University Medical Center, and in 1950 became one of the six degree-granting schools of Baylor University. The first Bachelor of Science in nursing degrees were awarded in 1954, establishing the school as one of the oldest baccalaureate nursing programs in the United States. In 1999, the School was renamed the Louise Herrington School of Nursing after Louise Herrington Ornelas, a 1992 Baylor Alumna Honoris Causa, made a $13 million endowment gift to the school. The School of Nursing offers a bachelor of science in nursing degree and a master of science in nursing degrees in advanced neonatal nursing, nursing administration and management, and family nurse practitioner programs, which are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. The School also offers a nurse midwifery doctorate in nursing practice.