Baylor Student Publications Receive Top National Honors

November 18, 2015
lariat logo

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia
Media contact: Terry Goodrich, (254) 710-3321
WACO, Texas (Nov. 18, 2015) – Baylor Student Publications was chosen for 18 national awards last week, receiving five best-in-the-nation awards for individual Baylor journalists. The Baylor Lariat, Focus Magazine, and Roundup Yearbook were recognized as top news outlets in their fields for the 2014-2015 school year.
The Lariat was named one of the Top 10 collegiate newspapers by the Associated Collegiate Press/College Media Association, and the Roundup was selected as a top five yearbook for 2015 and No. 2 yearbook for 2014. received a top 10 and a top five national ranking.
As a whole, Baylor Student Publications received awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, the Editor & Publisher EPPY Awards, the College Media Association Pinnacle Awards, the Associated Collegiate Press Awards and the ACP/CMA Best of Show Awards.
“As a team, we are elated and honored to have been commended by these prestigious organizations,” said Taylor Griffin, editor-in-chief of the Baylor Lariat. “The pieces recognized by these awards reflect the work of last year’s staff, and we hope to continue this same excellence now and into the coming semester.”
Below is a complete list of awards:
Columbia Scholastic Press Association Crown Awards
• Gold Crown — Focus Magazine, Spring 2015
• Silver Crown — Baylor Lariat, 2014-2015
• Silver Crown — Roundup Yearbook, 2014-2015

Editor & Publisher EPPY Awards
• Best College/University Newspaper Website (

College Media Association Pinnacle Awards
• First, Best Newspaper/Opinion Page Spread (Linda Wilkins, Baylor Lariat)
• First, Best Yearbook Feature Page/Spread (Emily Robertson, Roundup)
• First, Best Comic Strip (Asher Freeman Murphy, Baylor Lariat)
• First, Best General News Photo (Kevin Freeman, Baylor Lariat)
• First, Best Sports Feature Photo (Kevin Freeman, Baylor Lariat)
• Second, Best Magazine Entertainment Page/Spread (Emily Robertson, Roundup)
• Second, Best Portrait (Jess Schurz, Baylor Lariat)
• Second, Four-Year Yearbook of the Year (Roundup 2014)
• Third, Best Magazine Contents Page/Spread (Focus Magazine)

Associated Collegiate Press Awards
• Second, Cartooning for Comic Panel/Strip (Asher Freeman Murphy, Baylor Lariat)
• Fourth, Photo of the Year for Spot News Picture (Kevin Freeman, Baylor Lariat)
• Honorable Mention, Yearbook/Magazine Page/Spread (Focus Magazine)
• Honorable Mention, Feature Picture (Constance Atton, Baylor Lariat)
• Honorable Mention, Sports Story (Shehan Jeyarajah, Baylor Lariat)
• Honorable Mention, Editorial/Opinion – Magazine (Jonathon Platt, Focus Magazine)

ACP/CMA Best of Show Awards
• Fourth, Website: Large School (
• Fourth, Yearbook: 300-plus Pages (Roundup)
• Ninth, Newspaper: Four-Year Daily (Baylor Lariat)

“We are grateful to be recognized for the work we produce and to compete with our small 20-plus member staff against other universities who boast staffs of more than 400 students,” Griffin said.
“I’m so humbled to be a part of such a talented, motivated team. It’s certainly a time of celebration for us.”
For more information, contact Taylor Griffin.
by Bethany Harper, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805
Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having “high research activity” by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The University provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 16,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big 12 Conference.