Baylor University’s Model Organization of American States Team Shines in Washington D.C.

April 11, 2014

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMediaCom

Media contacts:
Media contact: Terry Goodrich, (254) 710-3321

WACO, Texas (April 11, 2014) – Fifteen students from Baylor’s Model Organization of American States recently won the presidency of the model for the sixth consecutive year at the Washington Model Organization of American States (WMOAS).
During the conference, 26 teams from the United States, Guatemala, Venezuela, Colombia and Argentina debated resolutions in five committees and worked through a crisis scenario that involved resolving an election dispute in El Salvador.
The Baylor team also visited the Argentine Mission to the Organization of American States (OAS) for a briefing on the country. Students discussed Argentine policy on migration, security, development and human rights and posed questions on the importance of diplomacy with Alternate Representative Maria Paula Zaninni.
The team was coached by Joan Supplee, Ph.D., the Ralph L. and Bessie Mae Lynn Professor of History in Baylor’s College of Arts & Sciences, who said the students should be congratulated for representing Baylor so well.
For more information on Baylor’s MOAS team, click here.

by Kristen Bennett, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805.


Baylor University is a private Christian university and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having “high research activity” by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The university provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 15,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating university in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 11 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big 12 Conference.


The College of Arts & Sciences is Baylor University’s oldest and largest academic division, consisting of 26 academic departments and 13 academic centers and institutes. The more than 5,000 courses taught in the College span topics from art and theatre to religion, philosophy, sociology and the natural sciences. Faculty conduct research around the world, and research on the undergraduate and graduate level is prevalent throughout all disciplines. Visit