Baylor University Holds Spring Commencement Ceremonies May 17-18

May 14, 2013

Baylor University Holds Spring Commencement Ceremonies May 17-18
Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia
Media contact: Lori Fogleman, (254) 710-6275
WACO, Texas (May 13, 2013) - "Do not face the future with timidity nor with fear. Face it boldly, courageously, joyously." These words of former Baylor University President Samuel Palmer Brooks will be in the minds of Baylor students as they mark the completion of their studies during spring commencement exercises on May 17-18. Baylor President Ken Starr will preside over the three ceremonies, which will be held at the Ferrell Center, 1900 S. University Parks Drive.

The first ceremony will take place at 2:30 p.m. Friday, May 17, for graduates of the School of Engineering & Computer Science, Louise Herrington School of Nursing, College of Arts & Sciences and the Graduate School. The second ceremony will begin at 9:30 a.m. Saturday, May 18, for graduates of the School of Social Work, School of Music, College of Arts & Sciences and the Graduate School. The final ceremony will take place at 2:30 p.m. for graduates of the Hankamer School of Business, School of Education and the Graduate School.

Baylor will provide live streaming of each ceremony, allowing families and friends of graduates to watch the presentation of diplomas from anywhere in the world. The live stream will begin 10 minutes prior to the start of the ceremonies at

At each ceremony, one emeritus professor will be honored as Bearer of the Mace and lead the graduates in the processional. Lawrence G. Felice, Professor Emeritus of Sociology (1970-2005), John McClanahan, Professor Emeritus of Art (1976-2010), and Weldon E. Beckner, Professor Emeritus of Educational Administration (1995-2006), will receive this honor.

The Mace - a symbol of authority used in all commencement exercises - is comprised of a golden sword linked with two walking canes once belonging to former Baylor President Rufus C. Burleson and Gen. Sam Houston. The sword was presented to Cyrus Baylor by President Andrew Jackson for his bravery in the War of 1812.

Invocations at the ceremonies will be given by Suzanne Abbe, senior lecturer of accounting, Diane Smith, associate director for production at Baylor Press, and Sherry Alejandro, administrative associate in the department of student activities. Closing benedictions will be given by Kyle Henderson, Mike Greenfield, and Robert Byrd Dawson, all of whom are honored guests of graduating students.

As part of commencement, President Starr will recognize Tim Thomasson, clinical professor of accounting, as the recipient of this year's Collins Outstanding Professor Award, along with the following faculty members who were awarded as Outstanding Professors for 2012-2013:

• William Hulitt Gloer, Ph.D., professor of Christian scriptures and Holder of the David E. Garland Chair of Preaching at George W. Truett Theological Seminary
• Helen E.W. Harris, Ed.D., senior lecturer at the School of Social Work
• Ann McGlashan, Ph.D., associate professor in the division of German and Russian
• Joyce E. Nuner, Ph.D., assistant professor in the department of family & consumer sciences

• Luke Meier, assistant professor at Baylor Law School
• Alexander R. Pruss, Ph.D., associate professor in the department of philosophy
• Kirk L. Wakefield, Ph.D., professor of marketing and Holder of the Edwin W. Streetman Professorship in Retail Management at Hankamer School of Business
• Laurel E. Zeiss, Ph.D., associate professor of musicology in the School of Music

Contributions to the Academic Community:
• Timothy R. McKinney, Ph.D., professor of music theory at the School of Music
• Carol L. Schuetz, associate reference librarian for social science and humanities

For more information about commencement exercises, please click here.

by Brent Salter, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805

Baylor University is a private Christian university and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having "high research activity" by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The university provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 15,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating university in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 11 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big 12 Conference.