Baylor Ballpark To Be Officially Dedicated Saturday

February 9, 2001

by Lori Scott Fogleman

Baylor University will dedicate its baseball stadium, officially to be known as Baylor Ballpark, during ceremonies scheduled for 12:25 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 10.
The dedication will take place prior to the Baylor vs. Cal State-Fullerton game, which will begin at 1:15 p.m.
The schedule of events includes remarks from Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr., Athletic Director Tom Stanton and head baseball coach Steve Smith, followed by a ribbon cutting by members of the Baylor Ballpark Founders, who will be recognized for their generous contributions to the ballpark building effort. Following a balloon release in centerfield, both coaching staffs and teams will be introduced, with a ceremonial first pitch scheduled for approximately 1:10 p.m. featuring Baylor Ballpark Founders.
Baylor Ballpark Founders who will be participating in the ceremonies are Carolyn and David Brooks, Ann and Harold Cunningham, Bill and Corinne Heiligbrodt, Dot and Matt Miller, Julie and Jim Turner, Karen and Richard Willis, Sharon and Carroll Dawson, Peggy and Rick Hawkins; Sloan and his wife, Sue; and Stanton and his wife, Kathleen.
Also attending the ceremony will be former Baylor athletic administrators Bill Menefee and Grant Teaff; former head baseball coaches Dutch Schroeder and Mickey Sullivan; and the wives of deceased former coaches.
Special dedication items for fans include a commemorative baseball for the first 1,800 fans through the gate and a commemorative poster for the first 2,000 fans who enter the ballpark.
For more information, contact Lori Scott Fogleman, director of media relations, at (254) 710-6275 or mobile (254) 744-4426.