Founders Day Celebration to Be Held Feb. 1

January 28, 1999

J. Harry and Anna Elizabeth Sturgis Jeanes will be presented with the Baylor University Founders Medal by Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr. during the Founders Day Celebration which will be held at 11 a.m. Monday, Feb. 1, in Waco Hall.
The Jeanes are native Wacoans who both graduated from Baylor in 1934. They have lived dedicated their lives to civic and service activities and have maintained a high level of interest in and support of Baylor. Mr. Jeanes served 18 years as a regent, with two of those years as chair, and is presently a regent emeritus. He also is a recipient of the W.R. White Meritorious Service Award and is a 1999 Distinguished Alumnus. The Jeanes were also presented with the 1997 Herbert H. Reynolds Award and the James Huckins Medal.
The Founders Award, established in September 1969, is one of the most distinguished awards given by Baylor. It is reserved for men and women whose service and contributions have been unusually significant to the life and future of the university.
Baylor Chancellor Herbert H. Reynolds will present the Founders Day Reflections and selected students, including student body president Gannon Sims, also will participate in the ceremony.
Monday's 10 a.m. Chapel Forum will be led by University Chaplain Milton Cunningham.
For any more information, contact the office of the chaplain at 710-3522.