Truett Seminary Hosts April 18 Banquet for Benefactors

April 17, 1996

by Brenda Tacker

The George W. Truett Theological Seminary at Baylor University will welcome benefactors at 6 p.m. Thursday, April 18, for its first "Dean's List" banquet at the First Baptist Church of Waco, 500 Webster St.
About 180 people are expected to attend, including Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr., who served as the seminary's first dean until being named to head the university in 1995. Dr. J. Bradley Creed, associate dean of the seminary since 1993, was named dean Jan. 19, 1996. Sloan will address the group, and Creed will provide an update on the seminary and present certificates to donors in the George W. Truett Society.
Others who will participate in the event include Bill Brian, chair of the Truett Board of Advisors; Ron Durham, pastor of Columbus Avenue Baptist Church in Waco; Jay Hogewood, a Truett student; Frances Osborne, a founding member of the Dean's List; and Russell H. Dilday, distinguished professor of homiletics at Truett.
The "Dean's List" is Truett's annual fund campaign. Founding members of the group represent gifts of more than $6 million to the seminary.