Retired Faculty and Staff Awards Luncheon Set for May 4

April 26, 1996

The Baylor University Alumni Association will honor four retired professors and one retired staff member during its annual retired faculty and staff awards luncheon at noon Saturday, May 4, in Room 510 of the Cashion Academic Center in the Hankamer School of Business.
The awards are presented to retired faculty and staff members for recognition of their scholarship, devotion and service to Baylor. Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr. will present the awards.
Recipients of the Retired Faculty Award include Dr. O. Herbert Colvin, emeritus professor of music theory (1957-1988); Dr. C. Richard Cutter, emeritus professor of Greek classics (1958-1994); Elizabeth Smith Githens, emeritus professor of English (1945-1969); and Dr. Emerson O. Henke, emeritus professor of accounting (1948-1986).
The Retired Staff Award will be presented to Jack C. Patterson, track coach (1955-1963) and athletic director (1971-1980). Sloan also will recognize and present plaques to the Baylor 1996 retirees.
Faculty members retiring May 31 include Dr. Barbara L. Bennett, professor emeritus and director of music education in the School of Music, with 27 years at Baylor; Dr. Lyle C. Brown, professor emeritus of political science and co-director of the Foreign Service Program, with 33 years; Chris Burckhardt, associate professor emeritus of German, with 31 years; Jochem F. Burckhardt, professor emeritus of German and Master Teacher, with 38 years; Dr. John C. Flynn, professor emeritus of psychology and neuroscience, with 33 years; Dr. Clement T. Goode, professor emeritus of English, with 39 years; Paul Z. Kemp, professor emeritus of art, with 35 years; Dr. Dorothy W. McAlister, professor of family and consumer sciences, with 16 years; Dr. Richard M. Willis, professor emeritus of music and Composer-in-Residence, with 32 years; and Dr. Walter R. Wortman Jr., professor emeritus of English, with 29 years.
Faculty members retiring Aug. 31 include Mary L. Adams, assistant professor of German, with 33 years at Baylor; Martha A. Baker, assistant professor of nursing, with 25 years; and Jack W. Wimer, lecturer in management, with 18 years.
For more information, contact Dr. W J Wimpee, director of the Retired Professor's Center, at 755-3516.