Mortar Board to Honor Distinguished Faculty

January 23, 1996

Baylor University's Mortar Board will recognize 26 faculty members as Distinguished Faculty at its annual Circle of Achievement Banquet at 7 p.m. tonight at the Harrington House on the Baylor campus.
Mortar Board is an academic honor society which recognizes outstanding juniors and seniors for their scholarship, leadership and service. Each member of Mortar Board selects one faculty member to honor based on the impact that faculty member has made on the student.
A former Circle of Achievement honoree, Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr., will be the keynote speaker at tonight's banquet.
Mortar Board's Distinguished Faculty for 1996 include Dr. James E. Barcus, chair and professor of English; Dr. Michael D. Beaty, associate professor of philosophy; Dr. Rosalie Beck, associate professor of religion; Dr. Michael E. Bishop, chair and professor of journalism; M. Lucille Brigham, assistant professor of mathematics; Dr. Delton L. Chesser, professor and The Roderick L. Holmes Professor of Accountancy; Dr. Nancy L. Chinn, assistant professor of English; Dr. Steven R. Eisenbarth, associate professor of engineering; and J. Brian Elliott, lecturer in communication studies.
Other honorees include Dr. Gregory T. Garrett, associate professor of English; Michael L. Haithcock, professor of conducting and director of bands; Dr. Walter C. Holmes, professor of biology; Patricia J. Howard, lecturer in English; Dr. Jay B. Losey, assistant professor of English; Dr. Edwin P. Oxford, professor of mathematics; Dr. David E. Pennington, professor of chemistry and Master Teacher; Dr. Kevin G. Pinney, assistant professor of chemistry; Dr. Edithe J. Potter, professor of French; and Dr. Jerry D. Reynolds, professor of communication studies.
Mortar Board also will recognize Dr. Steven D. Rich, associate professor of finance; Dr. Ann E. Rushing, assistant professor of biology; Dr. Sara S. Stone, professor of journalism; Dr. James Vardaman, professor of history, Master Teacher and deputy director for international education; Dr. F. Ray Wilson, professor of biology; Dr. John A. Wood, associate professor of religion; and Dr. David E. Young, lecturer in chemistry.