Baylor Professor Wins Award From International Society

January 15, 1996

WACO, Texas - Dr. Thomas C. Franklin, emeritus research professor of chemistry at Baylor University, has been named recipient of the Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching given by the Electrochemical Society.
The Electrochemical Society was organized in 1902, and among some of its goals are the encouragement of research and the dissemination of knowledge in the fields of electrochemical science and solid state science. Membership consists of approximately 6,000 scientists and engineers from more than 50 countries.
The Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching, awarded every two years, was created in 1981 to recognize excellence in teaching subject areas of interest to the society. A silver medal and a bronze replica are awarded bearing the recipient's name, as well as a $1,000 check.
In July of 1995, Franklin also received the Silver Medal Award of the American Electroplaters and Surface Finishers Society for Outstanding Paper, which appeared in 1994 in the society journal, Plating and Surface Finishing.
Franklin has taught at Baylor since 1954.
For more information, contact the chemistry department at 755-3311.