Baylor Professor Receives Teaching Award

May 15, 1996

Dr. Thomas Franklin, tenured emeritus professor of chemistry at Baylor University, recently received the Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching at the spring meeting of the Electrochemical Society.
Franklin began teaching at Baylor in 1946 and has more than 50 years teaching experience. Though many in the field of electrochemistry focus on research, Franklin said he is committed to teaching as well as research.
"I believe one of the best teaching courses is research, because the student has to use all he has been taught to produce effective research," Franklin said.
The Electrochemical Society is the largest international society in the field of electrochemistry in the world. The society has more than 6,000 members from more than 50 countries.
The award was founded in 1981 to recognize individuals for excellence in teaching in subject areas of interest to the electrochemical society. The award is given every two years along with a silver medal and a $1,000 award.
Henry B. Linford was a long-time teacher and chemistry chair of the University of Columbia where he trained many of today's leading electrochemists.
For more information, contact Franklin at 755-3311.