Baylor President to Be Enshrined Into Ll Hall of Excellence

June 18, 1996

WACO, Texas - Baylor University President Robert B. Sloan Jr. will be enshrined into the Peter J. McGovern Little League Baseball Museum Hall of Excellence during ceremonies Aug. 24 in Williamsport, Pa.
Sloan will be enshrined along with Cal Ripken Jr., shortstop of the Baltimore Orioles, and Len Coleman, president of the National League. The enshrinement ceremonies will be held during pre-game activities of the championship game highlighting the 50th anniversary of the Little League World Series held annually in Williamsport.
Sloan, a former Little League player, coach, and president of Lorena Little League, became president of Baylor June 1, 1995.
The criteria for enshrinement into the Little League Hall of Excellence are (1) an individual has played Little League baseball; (2) the individual excels in his profession of choice and (3) the individual is a role model for children.
Previous enshrinees include former major leaguers Tom Seaver, Jim Palmer, Mike Schmidt, Nolan Ryan and Dale Murphy, Sen. Bill Bradley, Vice-President Dan Quayle, actor Tom Selleck, columnist George Will, golfer Hale Irwin and basketball star Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.
The Hall of Excellence is named for Peter J. McGovern, the first full-time president of Little League Baseball. He died in 1984.
Currently, almost three million American boys and girls ages 5-18 participate in Little League.
The championship game will be televised at approximately 1 p.m. Waco time Aug. 24 on ABC-TV.