Baylor to Honor Distinguished Alumni Jan. 19

January 5, 1996

WACO, Texas-Baylor University will honor three graduates as Distinguished Alumni during the 1996 Distinguished Alumni Banquet at 7 p.m. Friday, Jan. 19, in the Barfield Drawing Room of the Bill Daniel Student Center.
The honorees for 1996 are Coach Hayden Fry, University of Iowa head football coach; Rev. Martha Niendorff Gilmore, associate professor of supervisory ministry at Perkins School of Theology at Southern Methodist University; and Dr. Joseph Elmer Hawkins Jr., educator and acoustic physiologist.
The Distinguished Alumni Award is bestowed on Baylor degree holders who have made a distinctive contribution to their particular profession, business or vocation and in doing so have brought honor to Baylor.
The awards will be presented by Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr. The master of ceremonies will be Frank Fallon, former coordinator of broadcast activities at Baylor, and the invocation will be given by Perry Oswin Chrisman, former Baylor regent and past president of the Alumni Association. Lyndon Olson Jr., president of the Alumni Association, also will be on the program.
Fry will be presented by Dave Campbell of Waco, former sports editor of the Waco Tribune-Herald and current editor of the Baylor Insider.
A native of Odessa, Fry was an all-state quarterback in high school and led his team to the 1946 Texas high school championship. He played quarterback at Baylor from 1947-1950, before earning a degree in psychology in 1951.
Fry recently completed his 17th season as the Iowa football coach and his 34th year as a head coach. Under Fry, the Hawkeye teams have earned three Big Ten titles and 12 bowl appearances in 17 years.
Fry has been named Big Ten Coach of the year three times and Coach of the Year by both the media and the American College Football Coaches Association. In 1994, he was inducted into the Holiday Bowl Hall of Fame after taking three Hawkeye teams to the Holiday Bowl, earning
two victories and a tie. On Dec. 30, his Iowa team defeated the University of Washington 38-18 in the Sun Bowl.
Fry was a player-coach with the Quantico Marines, reaching the rank of captain. He was a head coach in Odessa from 1956-1959, assistant coach at Baylor and Arkansas in 1960 and 1961, respectively, before moving to SMU as head coach from 1962-1972.
"I've always been motivated by the desire to turn a non-winner into a winner," Fry believes. "I once coached a pee-wee team that had never won a game and we won the title. That still ranks as one of my favorite achievements. Building is one of my biggest thrills."
Gilmore will be introduced by Dr. C. Wallace Christian, professor and the Kidd L. and Buna Hitchock Macon Professor of Religion at Baylor.
A native of El Paso, Gilmore received her bachelor of arts degree from Baylor in 1956 and started teaching in 1957 at William Brown Elementary School in Dallas. She returned to school in 1973, earning a master of theology degree from Perkins School of Theology at SMU in 1977.
She has worked with the Intern Program at Perkins School of Theology at SMU since 1977 as associate director, adjunct intern faculty and now as associate professor of supervisory ministry.
Gilmore has taught several seminary courses at Perkins School of Theology, including courses such as "The Pastor as a Caring Person" and "Pastoral Care and Counseling."
She has led many workshops throughout her ministerial career, including the "Spiritual Formation Training" at First Centenary United Methodist in Chattanooga, Tenn.; "Worship Leader and Worship Clinician" for the Association of Disciple Musicians at the University of Tulsa; and "The Short Course in Christian Living: Strategies for Family Relationships" for the First United Methodist Church in Bryan, Texas.
Hawkins will be introduced by Dr. William Hillis, Baylor's vice president for student life and the Cornelia Marschall Smith Distinguished Professor of Biology.
A native of Waco, Hawkins graduated from Baylor in 1933. He earned a bachelor of arts and a master of arts in 1937 and 1966, respectively, from the University of Oxford in Oxford, England, where he was a Rhodes Scholar. In 1941, he earned his doctorate in medical sciences from Harvard University.
In 1937, Hawkins began teaching physiology at Harvard and, in 1945, he joined the faculty at Bowman Gray School of Medicine at Wake Forest College. In 1956, Hawkins began a seven-year stint teaching otolaryngology at New York University Medical School before beginning his tenure at the University of Michigan Medical School, where he taught otorhinolaryngology (physiological acoustics) from 1963-1984.
From 1985-1993, Hawkins served as the Distinguished Visiting Professor of Biology at Baylor.
Hawkins is a recipient of Baylor's Distinguished Achievement Award, City of Pleven (Bulgaria) Medal, University of Bordeaux Medal, Award of Merit from the Association for Research in Otolaryngology, and the Humboldt Research Award for Senior U.S. Scientists from the University of Würzburg.
Hawkins is the author of more than 115 publications on a variety of issues including drug ototoxicity; effects of noise on hearing; inner ear anatomy, physiology and pathology; and psychoacoustics and audiology.
For more information, contact the Baylor Alumni Association at (817) 755-1121.