Truett Seminary to Hold Convocation Sept. 7

September 6, 1995

Baylor University's George W. Truett Theological Seminary will holds its 1995 convocation at 9:45 a.m. Thursday, Sept. 7, in the chapel of the First Baptist Church of Waco.
Dr. J. Bradley Creed, associate dean of the seminary, will preside during the service. Baylor Chancellor Herbert H. Reynolds will bring greetings, and Dr. Russell Dilday, interim dean of the seminary, will deliver the convocation address.
Approximately 90 seminary students are enrolled for the fall semester.
The opening of the seminary was first announced in 1993, with the first classes held in the fall 1994 semester. The inaugural class of Truett included 43 men and 11 women representing seven states. The class consisted of 19 Baylor alumni and alumni from 25 other universities including the National University of Rwanda and Hanyang University in Korea.
After Baylor President Robert. B Sloan Jr., then dean of the seminary, accepted the presidency of Baylor, Dilday became interim dean. He had been professor of homiletics at the seminary and also served as special assistant to the president. In addition to Dilday and Creed, other faculty include Dr. A.J. Conyers, professor of theology, Dr. Ruth Ann Foster, assistant professor of Christian Scripture, and Dr. Bruce Corley, professor of Christian Scripture.
For more information, contact the seminary at 755-3755.