Chemistry Lecturer Honored by Senior Class as Collins Outstanding Professor

May 11, 2021
Dr. Paul Zinke

Paul Zinke, Ph.D., senior lecturer in chemistry, has been selected by the senior class as the 2021 Collins Outstanding Professor.

Media Contact: Lori Fogleman, Baylor University Media and Public Relations, 254-709-5959
Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia

WACO, Texas (May 11, 2021) – Paul Zinke, Ph.D., senior lecturer in chemistry at Baylor University, has been selected as the 2021 Collins Outstanding Professor, an honor voted on annually by the senior class.

The Collins Outstanding Professor Award is provided by the Carr P. Collins Foundation, which recognizes and honors outstanding teachers at Baylor University.

"It is an honor to be recognized by the students of Baylor University for my contribution to their education," Zinke said. "I feel both pleasantly surprised and very grateful to be bestowed with the Collins Award. I also feel very privileged to have worked with such a wonderful group of students and colleagues on the Baylor faculty."

The Collins Professor receives an award of $10,000, recognition in University publications and citation on a plaque. Zinke also will deliver a special lecture, date to be determined, on a subject of his choice. His lecture will be published and made available to the University community.

Zinke has taught at Baylor since 2014 and currently teaches organic chemistry I and II. He earned his B.S. and M.S. in chemistry from East Texas State University (now Texas A&M-Commerce) and his Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Colorado at Boulder. He also is a Principal Scientist, Global Discovery Chemistry, for Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research/Alcon in Fort Worth. His expertise is in early phase drug discovery process and medicinal chemistry in the areas of glaucoma, inflammation and retina.

Previous recipients of the Collins Outstanding Professor Award include Dr. Joe Cox (1994), Dr. Rosalie Beck (1995), Dr. Randall O’Brien (1996), Dr. F. Ray Wilson (1997), Dr. D. Thomas Hanks (1998), Prof. Rachel Moore (1999), Dr. Chris Kearney (2000), Dr. Robert G. Packard (2001), Prof. Robert Jones (2002), Dr. Blaine McCormick (2003), Dr. Susan Wallace (2004), Prof. Maxey P. Parrish (2005), Dr. Michael F. Korpi (2006), Dr. Martha Colvin Agee (2007), Dr. Mona M. Choucair (2008), Dr. David W. Eldridge (2009), Dr. William D. Hillis (2010), Dr. Marcie Hannemann Moehnke (2011), Dr. Blair W. Browning (2012), Prof. Timothy Thomasson (2013), Dr. Paul M. La Bounty (2014), Dr. Mark D. Jonklaas (2015), Dr. Bruce E. Hodson (2016), Dr. Jonathan Tran (2017), Dr. Rebecca McCumbers Flavin (2018), Dr. Jane Haas Damron (2019) and Dr. David Moseman (2020).


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 19,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 90 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.