Baylor University Honors Outstanding Faculty for 2020-2021

May 5, 2021
Baylor University

(Morty Ortega/Baylor University)

Media Contact: Lori Fogleman, Baylor University Media and Public Relations, 254-709-5959
Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia

WACO, Texas (May 5, 2021) – Twelve Baylor University professors have been honored with Outstanding Faculty Awards for teaching, scholarship and contributions to the academic community for the 2020-2021 academic year.

The Outstanding Faculty Awards recognize the best all-around professors – including non-tenure track, tenured and tenure-track faculty – based on teaching capabilities, research achievement, effective committee service, time spent with students and civic and church involvement.

The designation represents a singular honor for Baylor faculty since the recognition comes from their colleagues. Each of the honorees will receive an award of $2,500, a citation and recognition by their department.

Outstanding Faculty 2020-2021

Teaching (tenured)

  • Keith Schubert, Ph.D., professor, electrical and computer engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science
  • Mark Long, Ph.D., associate professor and director of Middle East Studies, Honors College
  • Julie Anne Sweet, Ph.D., professor of history, College of Arts & Sciences

Teaching (tenure-track)

  • Lakia Scott, Ph.D., assistant professor, curriculum and instruction, School of Education

Teaching (non-tenure track)
  • Elon Terrell, Ph.D., senior lecturer, mechanical engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science
  • Laila Sanguras, Ph.D., lecturer, curriculum and instruction, School of Education
  • Yuko Prefume, Ed.D., senior lecturer, Japanese, College of Arts & Sciences

Scholarship (tenured)

  • Stephen McClain, Ph.D., professor, mechanical engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science
  • Robert Miner, Ph.D., professor, Great Texts, Honors College
  • Daniel Romo, Ph.D., Schotts Professor of Chemistry, College of Arts & Sciences

Scholarship (tenure-track)

  • Stephanie Gerow, Ph.D., assistant professor, educational psychology, School of Education

Significant Contributions to the Academic Community
  • Randall Bradley, D.M.A., The Ben H. Williams Professor of Music, professor of church music, director of the Church Music Program and The Center for Christian Music Studies, School of Music


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 19,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 90 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.