Ten Baylor University Faculty Members Selected for 2019-2020 Baylor Fellows

September 24, 2019

Media Contact: Terry Goodrich, Baylor University Media and Public Relations, 254-710-3321
Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia

WACO, Texas (Sept. 24, 2019) — Ten Baylor University faculty members have been selected to serve as 2019-2020 Baylor Fellows for their excellence in teaching and desire to transform student thinking through innovation.

The 2019-2020 Baylor Fellows are:

  • Andy Arterbury, Ph.D., associate professor of Christian Scriptures, George W. Truett Theological Seminary, and 2018-2019 Baylor Fellow selected to serve as 2019-2020 Senior Fellow.
  • Candi Cann, Ph.D., associate professor, Baylor Interdisciplinary Core, Honors College.
  • Jane Damron, Ph.D., senior lecturer, communication, College of Arts & Sciences.
  • Andie Day, lecturer, family and consumer sciences, Robbins College of Health and Human Sciences.
  • Jennifer Dickey, Ph.D., senior lecturer, social work, Diana R. Garland School of Social Work.
  • Dan Hanchey, Ph.D., associate professor, classics, College of Arts & Sciences.
  • Tiffany Hogue, J.D., clinical professor, higher education leadership and policy, School of Education.
  • Lyn Prater, Ph.D., clinical professor, nursing, Louise Herrington School of Nursing.
  • Cheolho Sim, Ph.D., associate professor, biology, College of Arts & Sciences.
  • Michael Stroope, Ph.D., professor and The M.C. Shook Chair of Christian Missions, George W. Truett Theological Seminary.

Baylor’s Academy for Teaching and Learning (ATL) began the fellowship program in 2011, which recognizes outstanding teachers across the disciplines and provides them the opportunity to implement new teaching approaches. Selected faculty members receive an award of $1,845 in honor of the year of Baylor’s founding and the title of “Baylor Fellow.” This year’s theme is “Education for Global Engagement.”

Wesley Null, Ph.D., vice provost for undergraduate education and institutional effectiveness, credits faculty development programs like the Baylor Fellows and other initiatives of the ATL with “fostering and supporting the culture of excellence in undergraduate education that U.S. News & World Report recently recognized by ranking Baylor in the top 20 of national universities in the category of undergraduate education. Continued recognition and development of faculty members like those included in our list of Fellows this year will propel us even closer to our Tier 1 aspirations.”

“Baylor Fellows explore new ways to facilitate transformational education, one of the four pillars of Illuminate, Baylor’s strategic plan,” said Lenore Wright, Ph.D., ATL director and associate professor in the Baylor Interdisciplinary Core of the Honors College. “Although they are outstanding teachers already, the Fellows welcome an opportunity to think anew, and think together, about teaching, learning and student engagement. I am proud to honor them and humbled by their commitment to excellence.”

Baylor Fellows are free to choose how to implement the theme in their teaching. The Fellows undertake a process of study and planning related to the theme and each Fellow identifies one course as an “incubator” or “lab” classroom, developing the course in ways that address the theme. The Fellows also develop means to assess their projects, report to the group in monthly meetings, perform partnered classroom teaching observations and present to the Provost’s Faculty Forum and their home departments.

All full-time faculty members, regardless of rank, are eligible to serve as Baylor Fellows. Nominations are solicited from the deans of the 12 colleges and schools, from former Baylor Fellows and from the ATL’s advisory council. The nominations are presented to the provost’s office for selection of the Fellows.


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. It provides a vibrant campus community for more than 17,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 90 countries to study a broad range of degrees among 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.