Baylor Mathematics, Physics Major Chosen for 2019 Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky Memorial Award

November 7, 2019
Stephen Allen

Stephen Blake Allan, a junior mathematics major from Indianapolis, Indiana has been chosen as a recipient of the American Mathematical Society's 2019 Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky Memorial Award. The award provides financial assistance to outstanding undergraduate mathematics students.

Media Contact: Terry Goodrich, Baylor University Media and Public Relations, 254-710-3321
Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia

by Cerenity Austin, student newswriter, Baylor University Media and Public Relations

WACO, Texas (Nov. 7, 2019) — Baylor University senior Stephen Blake Allan, mathematics and physics major from Indianapolis, Indiana, has been named a recipient of the American Mathematical Society’s (AMS) 2019 Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky Memorial Award.
The AMS selected eight geographically distributed schools to receive one-time awards of $3,000 each through the Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky Memorial Fund. The mathematics departments at those schools then chose a student to receive the funds to assist them in their pursuit of careers in mathematics.

“Recognition from such a distinguished mathematical organization is a tremendous endorsement for my aspirations to be a mathematician,” Allan said.

The fund is made possible by the will of Barbara G. Trjitzinsky in honor of her husband, Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky. Born in Russia in 1901, Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky was a professor, member of the AMS and author of multiple mathematic papers. In memoriam of Trjitzinsky’s concern for mathematic students, the fund aims to provide financial assistance to outstanding students.
Throughout his time at Baylor, Allan has distinguished himself as an avid learner while staying involved in the campus community. He is a member of Baylor’s Honors Residential College and tutoring programs around campus.

In May, Allan was invited to speak on mathematical physics at Virginia Tech’s Blacksburg campus at the Crossings Conference alongside one of his Baylor faculty mentors, Fritz Gesztesy, Ph.D., Ralph and Jean Storm Professor of Mathematics.

Allan said speaking at the conference was an excellent opportunity to connect with prominent researchers in the mathematics field.

“I would never have had such tremendous opportunities if not for the support of so many excellent faculty and mentors here at Baylor,” Allan said.

Allan attributes his success to the mentorship of Gesztesy and Lance Littlejohn, Ph.D., professor of mathematics, and Andrei Martínez-Finkelshtein, Ph.D., professor of mathematics; Scott Wilde, Ph.D., lecturer of mathematics; Constanze Liaw, Ph.D., assistant professor of mathematics and Will Brian.

“As an undergraduate he perfectly held his own during the short talk he gave at the international conference last May,” Gesztesy said. “Blake is clearly an outstanding student and I feel fortunate to be able to work with him.”

After studying at Baylor, Allan plans to attend graduate school and become a professor in mathematics.

“It’s an honor to be nominated for such an award,” Allan said. “I couldn’t help but praise the Lord and thank the people who helped make it possible.”

Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 17,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 90 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.