Baylor Honors Outstanding Faculty for 2018-2019

May 8, 2019
Baylor University Welcome Sign

Media Contact: Lori Fogleman, Baylor University Media and Public Relations, 254-710-6275
Follow Lori on Twitter: @LoriBaylorU
Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia

by Jessie Jilovec, student newswriter, Baylor University Media and Public Relations

WACO, Texas (May 8, 2019) – Twelve Baylor University professors have been honored with Outstanding Faculty Awards for teaching, scholarship and contributions to the academic community for the 2018-2019 academic year.

The Outstanding Faculty Awards recognize the best all-around professors based on teaching capabilities, research achievement, effective community service, time spent with students, civic involvement and church involvement, including non-tenure track, tenured and tenured track faculty.

The designation represents a singular honor for Baylor faculty since the recognition comes from their colleagues.

Each fall, the Provost’s office calls for Outstanding Faculty nominations. Each academic department selects its own nominees, who are sent through the deans of each college and school. The award recipients are selected by the Outstanding Faculty Selection Committee.

Each Outstanding Faculty honoree receives a $2,500 cash award, a citation, recognition by his or her department and recognition at spring commencement. This year’s selection committee was chaired by Carrie Arroyo, M.S.W., senior lecturer in the Diana R. Garland School of Social Work.

“It is important to honor our faculty so we can celebrate all of the great work that is being done across the university,” Arroyo said.

Outstanding Professors 2018-2019

Teaching (tenured)

Matt Cordon, J.D.
Professor of law and director of the Legal Writing Center, Baylor Law School

Andrew Arterbury, Ph.D.
Associate professor of Christian Scriptures, Truett Seminary

James SoRelle, Ph.D.
Professor of history and undergraduate program director, College of Arts & Sciences

Teaching (tenure-track)

Enrique (Erik) Blair, Ph.D.
Assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science

Teaching (non-tenure)

Joseph Donndelinger, M.S.
Clinical professor of professional practice in the department of mechanical engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science

Bill Neilson, M.D.
Associate dean, senior lecturer and clinical professor, Honors College

Lauren Poor, Ph.D.
Lecturer in history and director of the Office of the Core, College of Arts & Sciences


Cindy Riemenschneider, Ph.D.
Associate dean for research and faculty development, professor of information systems, Hankamer School of Business

Lesley McAllister, D.M.A.
Associate professor of piano and director of piano pedagogy, School of Music

John Wood, Ph.D.
Robert A. Welch Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas Scholar, College of Arts & Sciences

Scholarship (non-tenured tenure-track)

Monique Ingalls, Ph.D.
Assistant professor of music, School of Music

Significant Contributions to the Academic Community

Joel Gregory, Ph.D.
Professor of preaching and holder of The George W. Truett Chair of Preaching and Evangelism, George W. Truett Theological Seminary


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 17,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 90 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.