President Livingstone Elected to American Council on Education Board of Directors

December 18, 2018
President Livingstone

Baylor President Linda A. Livingstone, Ph.D., will begin a three-year term on the Board of Directors of the American Council on Education in March 2019. (Robert Rogers/Baylor University)

Media Contact: Lori Fogleman, Baylor University Media and Public Relations, 254-710-6275
Follow us on Twitter at BaylorUMedia

WACO, Texas (Dec. 18, 2018) – Baylor University President Linda A. Livingstone, Ph.D., has been elected to serve on the Board of Directors of the American Council on Education (ACE), the major coordinating body for the nation’s colleges and universities.

Dr. Livingstone was elected during an ACE business meeting Dec. 14 and will serve a three-year term beginning in March 2019.

“ACE’s mission is to mobilize the higher education community to shape effective public policy and foster innovative, high-quality practice, and we are fortunate to have leaders from across the diverse landscape of American colleges and universities who are dedicated to helping us achieve these goals,” said ACE President Ted Mitchell.

ACE represents nearly 1,700 college and university presidents and the executives at related associations, and is the only major higher education association to represent all types of U.S. accredited, degree-granting institutions: two-year and four-year, public and private. ACE members represent two out of every three students in all accredited, degree-granting institutions.

A strong voice for the role of faith-based institutions in American higher education, Dr. Livingstone has established herself as a scholar in organizational behavior, leadership and creativity with deep expertise in university accreditation.

She began her tenure as Baylor University’s 15th president on June 1, 2017. A distinguished scholar and academic leader, she previously served as dean and professor of management at The George Washington University School of Business from 2014 to 2017 and as dean of Pepperdine University’s Graziadio School of Business and Management from 2002 to 2014.

Dr. Livingstone’s presidency marks her return to Baylor after time on the Waco campus from 1991 to 2002. She served as a faculty member and was awarded tenure in the department of management before serving four years as associate dean of graduate programs for the Hankamer School of Business.

Dr. Livingstone’s many academic and professional accomplishments include serving as chair of the board of the international Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) from 2014 to 2015. The AACSB is the professional organization for business schools and accredits hundreds of the best business schools globally across 53 countries and territories. She chaired the AACSB Committee on Accreditation Policy from 2015 to 2016.

A native of Perkins, Oklahoma, Dr. Livingstone played varsity basketball at Oklahoma State University, where she earned a Bachelor of Science in economics and management, a Master of Business Administration and a Doctor of Philosophy in management and organizational behavior. She is a member of Oklahoma State’s Spears School of Business Hall of Fame and was the first recipient of the Outstanding Ph.D. Alumnus Award. She also was recognized in 2015 with the OSU Distinguished Alumni Award.


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 17,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.