Senior Class Honors Dr. David Eldridge as Collins Outstanding Professor

April 28, 2009

by Jaime Bates, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMediaCom

Dr. David W. Eldridge, professor of biology and director of clinical laboratory science at Baylor University, has been selected by this year's senior class as the 2009 Collins Outstanding Professor, an annual award provided by the Carr P. Collins Foundation that recognizes and honors extraordinary teachers at Baylor.
As the 2008 Collins Outstanding Professor, Eldridge will deliver a special lecture -- "What's So Funny About Science?" -- at 2 p.m. Tuesday, May 5, in room B110 of the Baylor Sciences Building on the Baylor campus. The lecture will discuss how biological concepts can be illustrated with humor, specifically cartoons. Eldridge is well known among students for his extensive collection of Winnie the Pooh items.

"It is a tremendous honor to be recognized by the students you work with," said Eldridge. "It is good to know that they a have respect for you and know that what you do in the classroom is designed to benefit them."
Eldridge received a bachelor's degree from Tennessee Technological University and a master's and doctorate from Auburn University. He came to Baylor in 1968. In his 41 years at Baylor, Eldridge has taught introductory botany, microbiology, introductory biology, bacteriology and cellular physiology. Eldridge also serves as director of the clinical laboratory science degree and adviser for premedical student, predental students and biology majors.
The Collins Professor receives a cash award of $10,000, recognition in university publications, citation on a plaque and recognition at spring commencement.
Previous recipients of the Collins Outstanding Professor Award are Dr. Joe Cox (1994), Dr. Rosalie Beck (1995), Dr. Randall O'Brien (1996), Dr. F. Ray Wilson (1997), Dr. D. Thomas Hanks (1998), Rachel Moore (1999), Dr. Chris Kearney (2000), Dr. Robert G. Packard (2001), Robert Jones (2002), Dr. Blaine McCormick (2003), Dr. Susan Wallace (2004), Maxey P. Parrish (2005), Dr. Michael F. Korpi (2006), Dr. Martha Colvin Agee (2007) and Dr. Mona M. Choucair (2008).