Baylor Honors Fred And Princess Cameron With 2009 Founders Medal

January 27, 2009
News Photo 4642

Princess and Fred Cameron will receive one of the most distinguished awards given by Baylor University ? the Founders Medallion ? at a ceremony at 11 a.m. Wednesday, Jan. 28, during Chapel.

Fred and Princess Cameron of Houston will receive one of the most distinguished awards given by Baylor University - the Founders Medallion - at a ceremony at 11 a.m. Wednesday, Jan. 28, during Chapel. Established in 1969, the Founders Medal is reserved for men and women whose service and contributions have been unusually significant to the life and future of the university.

"Fred and Princess Cameron express their heart for Baylor University in countless ways," said Dr. David E. Garland, Baylor's interim president and dean of George W. Truett Theological Seminary. "So many Baylor students have been touched over the years by the Camerons' enthusiastic involvement. Fred and Princess are treasured members of the Baylor family, and we are honored to name them Founders of Baylor University."

Ever since the Camerons met at Baylor's Dr Pepper Hour more than 50 years ago, they have continued their contagious spirit of service and devotion to one another and to Baylor.

Fred (BBA '60, JD '62) and Princess (BA '60) have served as leaders in organizations, such as the Baylor Law Alumni Association, Baylor University Women's Association of Houston and the Houston Baylor Club. Fred is a past chairman of the Baylor Board of Regents and received the W.R. White Meritorious Service Award in 2002 for his outstanding service and loyalty to the university.

In addition, the Camerons support students through endowed scholarship funds in the areas of law, music and athletics and through generous participation in campaigns for some of Baylor's premier facilities, such as the Baugh-Reynolds campus of Truett Seminary and the McLane Student Life Center. They are members of the James Huckins Society within the Baylor University Medallion Fellowship, Old Main Society and Baylor Bear Foundation.

Will May, dean of Baylor's School of Music, lauded the Camerons for the time and resources they have dedicated to the advancement of the School of Music and the university.

"Fred and Princess reflect the attitudes and aspirations for Baylor that our original founders held," May said.

Fred recently retired from his position as Senior Partner of Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P., and Princess continues to minister through her role as an English as a Second Language teacher with Tallowood Baptist Church's literacy program. Dedicated members of Tallowood, Fred has been an active soloist and choir member for many years, and Princess serves on the prayer ministry team and as an adult Bible study teacher.

Following the Founders Day Celebration, Baylor will unveil Henry McArdle's recently restored portrait of Judge R.E.B. Baylor at a reception in the Allbritton Foyer of Moody Memorial Library at 2:30 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 28. The portrait joins the Baylor Founders Exhibit, part of Baylor's "Baptist 400: Celebrating 400 Years of Baptist Life" celebration.

The exhibit focuses on Baylor's early years, featuring portraits of Judge Baylor and other founders, as well as the large bell from Independence and other artifacts from the original campus. The exhibit will be open for viewing through Feb. 27.

About Baylor University's Founders Day Celebration

Each year, the Baylor community celebrates Founders Day, a commemoration of the chartering of Baylor University on Feb. 1, 1845. Prior recipients of the Founders Medal include Mary Russell McCall, Ralph and Jean Storm, Troy Mays, Ted and Sue Getterman, Will and Mary Long, Joe L. and Barbara Balfanz Allbritton, Bob Bullock, Samuel Palmer Brooks, W.R. White, Abner V. McCall and Herbert H. Reynolds.

The face of the Founders Medal bears the likeness of Judge R.E.B. Baylor, with the inscription, "Pro Ecclesia Pro Texana." The obverse bears the likeness of Pat Neff Hall. A copy of the medal is on permanent exhibit in the National Numismatic Collection, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.