Baylor Recognizes Outstanding Students

February 28, 1996

The Baylor University Council for Institutional Development recently honored eight individuals as Outstanding Students during its spring meeting in the Hooper-Schaefer Fine Arts Center. The eight students represent Baylor's eight major academic areas.
Ashley Dawn Bounds was named outstanding student from the College of Arts and Sciences. She is a graduate of Newton High School in Newton, Miss., and attended the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science in Columbus, Miss. Bounds, with a 3.87 grade-point average, has been on the Dean's Academic Honor Roll every semester at Baylor and was honored as a Mortar Board Top 100 Freshmen recipient.
After graduation, Bounds plans to earn a doctorate in chemistry and obtain a position in either an industrial or academic research lab.
Scott Andrew Howard was selected outstanding student of the Hankamer School of Business. Howard, a graduate of Temple High School, has been on the Dean's Academic Honor Roll and has maintained a 3.6 grade-point average while at Baylor. He has been honored by Who's Who Among American Universities and Colleges, and is a member of Gamma Beta Phi national honor fraternity, the American Marketing Association, Young Life and New Life Ministries, and Kappa Sigma social fraternity.
Howard would like to work in the marketing field after graduation and pursue a career in either business or ministry.
Anna Elizabeth Erkel was chosen outstanding student from the School of Education. Erkel graduated from Westlake High School in Austin, Texas. At Baylor she has been on the Dean's Academic Honor Roll every semester and has maintained a 3.96 grade-point average. She was both a Mortar Board Top 100 Freshman and a Who's Who recipient; and has been active in the Baylor Leadership Council, Chi Omega social sorority, the Baylor Welcome Week program, and First United Methodist Church.

Erkel's future goals are to work with children in foreign missions and to become a classroom teacher in the United States.
Timothy Paul Parker was selected as the outstanding student in the School of Engineering and Computer Science. A National Merit Scholar, Parker graduated from Tolleson University High School in Tolleson, Ariz., and has been on the Dean's Academic Honor Roll, maintaining a 3.89 grade-point average. He is a member of Upsilon Pi Epsilon, Alpha Chi, Gamma Beta Phi, and Pi Mu Epsilon honor societies.
Upon graduation, Parker would like to attend graduate school.
Amy Elizabeth Douthitt, from Henrietta, Texas, was selected outstanding student of the Baylor School of Law. A Magna Cum Laude graduate from Texas A&M University, she received a bachelor of science in economics with a political science minor. She has maintained a 3.71 grade-point average while at law school. Douthitt has been managing editor for the "Baylor Law Review," member of the Order of the Barristers and Phi Alpha Delta legal fraternity.
After serving in 1996-97 as briefing attorney for Justice Priscilla Owen of the Texas Supreme Court, she will become an associate at the law firm of Baker and Botts in Houston.
Amy Jeanette Shipps is outstanding student for the School of Music. A graduate of Edmond Memorial High School in Edmond, Okla., she has been on the Dean's Academic Honor Roll and has maintained a 3.90 grade-point average. Shipps, a National Merit Finalist, is an associate member of the Waco Symphony Orchestra, and a member of the Waco Civic Chorus Orchestra. She is also active in Mu Phi Epsilon, Mortar Board, and Golden Key National Honor Society.
After graduation, Shipps would like to attend graduate school at the University of Oklahoma and continue teaching private flute lessons in the Oklahoma City area. She has applied for a Fulbright Grant to study folk music in Brazil and is awaiting a response.
Kerri Ladehoff is outstanding student chosen for the School of Nursing. A Baylor graduate from Topeka, Kan., she has maintained a 3.26 grade-point average, and has a 3.57 grade-point average in Nursing. Ladehoff has been involved in Alpha Tau Delta, a professional nursing fraternity, Baylor Student Nursing Association, Texas Student Nursing Association, and was president of the 1996 Class at Baylor University School of Nursing and a charter member of the Baylor Leadership Council.
After graduation, Ladehoff is planning to practice nursing in California. Her interests lie in pediatrics, public health and home care. She plans to pursue and obtain a master's degree in nursing and also become a nurse practitioner in pediatrics or family-oriented care.

Lorin Swint Matthews was chosen as outstanding student in the Graduate School. A Paris, Texas native, Matthews received her bachelor of science from Baylor University summa cum laude with honors, and has maintained a 4.0 grade-point average as a graduate student. Matthews was voted outstanding student for the College of Arts and Sciences in 1993, and has been chair of the American Chemical Society Conference Committee. She is involved in the Society of Physics Students, Sigma Pi Sigma physics honor society, and the Society of Physics Students.
After obtaining her doctorate in space physics, Lorin plans to teach at the university level. She would like to work in technical consulting.