Baylor to Present Annual Service Awards Feb. 27

February 20, 1996

Baylor University will hold its annual service awards ceremony to recognize outstanding employees at 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 27, in the Barfield Drawing Room of the Bill Daniel Student Center.
This year approximately 280 employees will be recognized for service to the university.
The awards will be presented to faculty and staff members by President Robert B. Sloan Jr.
Employees will be recognized for giving 3, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years of service to Baylor. Dr. Jack Herring, professor of English and The Margaret Root Brown Professor of Robert Browning Studies, will be honored for 35 years of service and Mary Tindle, professor of health, human performance and recreation, will be honored for 40 years of service.
Brooches will be presented to women and tie tacks to men with diamonds representing the years of service at Baylor, beginning with the employee's fifth year.
Six non-faculty employees will be recognized for outstanding service in the categories of executive, professional, administrative, secretarial/clerical and skill crafts. The Outstanding Staff Award recipients will be announced at the ceremony.
A $1,000 cash award will be given to each outstanding employee.
The service awards ceremony has been a tradition at Baylor since 1972.